Medical Marijuana (MMJ) laws differ from state to state. People in California and Nevada have an easier time getting the MMJ they need, according to a report by Americans For Safe Access. The paper measured medical marijuana accessibility through five categories: Patient Rights and Protection, Access to Medicine, Ease of Navigation, Functionality, and Provider Requirements.
The categories had a numbered point system that leads to a letter grade. For example, Arizona is somewhere in the middle, with a score of C+. It’s not that bad since the state has a high patient rights score (96 out of 100 points), thanks in part to the Arizona Medical Marijuana Act. It eliminated criminal penalties for people who use and possess medical marijuana. The state also has a good record when it comes to dispensary accessibility and patient qualification.
If you’re in an AZ city like Phoenix or Chandler, here’s what you need to do to get your MMJ legally.
Consider Your Age First
Medical Marijuana is often used for the treatment of chronic pain. It’s a drug that should be accessible to people of all ages. Adults don’t have a problem sending in their application as long as a physician certifies it. If you or a loved one is under 18, you must be accompanied by a guardian when filing your application. Your guardian should also fill up an attestation form to confirm that the information you sent is correct.
Is Your Condition Qualified?
The Arizona Department of Health Services (AZDHS) has a list of conditions that qualify a person for medical marijuana treatment. These diseases include ALS, cancer, HIV, and more. It also covers persistent conditions such as chronic pain, severe nausea, seizures, etc. If you don’t find your disease on the list, you may request that it be added to the state’s list of “debilitating medical conditions.”
Getting Your Medical Records
It’s your legal right to gain access to your medical records. Request them from your local hospital or personal physician. You have to fill out a few forms to file a formal request. You may also have to wait for at least 30 days to collect the records or get them delivered to you.
Asking Your Doctor About It
Medical marijuana is still a relatively new form of treatment, and the medical community isn’t entirely one in recommending it to patients. An Arizona-licensed doctor should fill out and sign the certification you need to submit to the AZDHS. There’s no harm in asking your dedicated doctor to give you certification, but it’s also best to search for physicians who are well-versed in using medical marijuana to help you out.
Getting Your Card
Now that you have your doctor’s certification, it’s time to apply for your MMJ card online. The AZDHS has a comprehensive checklist of requirements for submitting an application. Apart from the basic information, you need to upload a 2×2 headshot and a copy of an ID issued on or after 1996. Valid IDs include your driver’s license, state ID card, registry information card, or U.S. passport. You also need to pay a $150 application fee through a credit or debit card. It will take about three to ten days for the card to be delivered to you.
Once you get your card, you’ll be able to purchase medical cannabis from your local dispensary without a recommendation letter. Remember that you’re only allowed to possess two and a half ounces of usable marijuana. And your condition does not protect you from being charged with driving under the influence (DUI). Use your card and your medicine responsibly.
Get Quality Medical Cannabis
Many people still have a negative perception of medical marijuana. At Territory Dispensary, we make it our goal to change those perceptions with our premium cannabis products and excellent customer service. We have nearly a decade of experience as a dispensary here in Chandler, and we’re happy to give you the quality of life you deserve through our goods.
Contact us today for more information about our products.